University Ridge Golf Course History

The University Ridge Golf Course is a public golf course and the official home course to the University of Wisconsin men’s and women’s golf teams. Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed the course, which opened in 1991.

Naming the Ridge

University Ridge derives its name from the landscape features left by the last retreating glacier. The course sits on the terminal moraine, where the Wisconsin Glacier stopped, forming the backbone of the ridge that separates the land into groups of rolling hills and valleys. The natural ridge dictated course construction and the designers followed the contours of the land to create a natural setting that overlooks the City of Madison.

A Course for Everyone

With five sets of tees ranging from 5,005 to 7,289 yards, University Ridge offers something for players of every ability level. The wide-open front nine rolls through a preserved prairie and marshland, while the first six holes of the back nine are cut out of a dense Wisconsin woodland. The course opens up again at the 554-yard signature 16th hole, which features 3 fairways and 12 bunkers. The 18th is the perfect finishing hole as a climb of 182 feet between woodland and prairie is required to complete the 443-yard par 4.

Blending into the Environment

University Ridge is a member of the Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary Program, which promotes protecting water quality, conserving natural resources, and providing wildlife habitats. The Ice Age Trail, one of eight National Scenic Trails in the U.S., also runs through a portion of the golf course.

Competitive Events Hosted

Since the opening of University Ridge, numerous events have been hosted:

  • 2016-2023 American Family Championship (PGA TOUR Champions)
  • 2018 NCAA Cross Country National Championship
  • 2018 Women's NCAA Golf Regional
  • 2015 Wisconsin State Open
  • 2010 Women’s Big Ten Conference Championship
  • 2005 Men’s Big Ten Conference Championship
  • 2000 Women’s Big Ten Conference Championship
  • 1998 NCAA Division 1 Women’s Championship
  • 1995 Men’s Big Ten Conference Championship
  • 1994-Present WIAA Boys and Girls State Tournament
  • 1993 Western Junior Open